Forum

Author Topic: Split depth generation as separate task?  (Read 7595 times)

WickedAndy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Split depth generation as separate task?
« on: February 16, 2012, 11:30:38 PM »
would it make sense to have the cpu/gpu intensive task of generating the depth data in each image
as a separate process from the actual mesh generation? say you make a target mesh of 100000 polys
but then want to have a higher res mesh, could just re-use the saved depth data go straight to the
geometry construction phase?...   just spent 24hrs doing depth generation, wish it could be re-used..

WickedAndy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Split depth generation as separate task?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 08:53:55 PM »
or even just have photoscan SAVE after generating depth and before generating the mesh... just had a photoscan running for over 86 hours that failed on mesh generation.... now it's back to square one  >:(

akemono

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Split depth generation as separate task?
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 12:20:20 PM »
I second this, it would be great if you were able to re-use the depth stage for recalculation of the mesh.

Infinite

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
Re: Split depth generation as separate task?
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 02:25:33 PM »
Sounds like a good idea, 2 stage process. Save after each one and be able to re-use depth pass, should you need to.
_______________________________________________
I N F I N I T E
www.ir-ltd.net

kosmarnik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Split depth generation as separate task?
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2012, 04:42:00 AM »
I concur.
Been doing some tests and it was crashing on the mesh gen after 2 hours of waiting. Gave up for now.
Makes no sense to have it all in one all-or-nothing go.
Heck with the free SFM software you have it all in discrete steps.