Forum

Author Topic: NVidia Quadro 4000  (Read 2899 times)

Geo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
NVidia Quadro 4000
« on: May 23, 2015, 02:36:59 AM »
We have a HPZ400 workstation that has 16gb RAM and I believe has an NVidia GeForce GTX 760 card in it.  I asked our IT department for an upgrade to at least 64gb of RAM for processing imagery in Agisoft.  They have another workstation that is a HPZ420 that they are going to build and swap out for the old one.  I mentioned to IT that a new SSD  that was recently installed in the old workstation and would be very helpful to have in the new workstation and that the NVidia GeForce GTX 760 card or better from the old machine is also critical for the processing.

IT replied that they will put in a good SSD and a Nvidia Quadro 4000 video card.  Can someone please let me know if the Quadro 4000 is better that the GeForce GTX 760 card?

dtmcnamara

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: NVidia Quadro 4000
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2015, 05:46:10 AM »
I would go with the 760, unless other programs you run require a Quadro card.

Geo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: NVidia Quadro 4000
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2015, 05:33:01 PM »
Thank you for your reply.  Would IT be able to install both cards to work?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12945
    • View Profile
Re: NVidia Quadro 4000
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2015, 10:18:10 AM »
Hello Geo,

PhotoScan can use both cards for processing, whereas for visualization purposes GPU that is defined as primary by OS will be utilized.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC