Forum

Author Topic: Using camera external orientation  (Read 9671 times)

patcarbon

• View Profile
Using camera external orientation
« on: August 25, 2011, 04:19:56 PM »
Hi, sorry if some of these questions are obvious but I'm new with photoscan.

So I want to use a photo dataset generated by a UAV (usually between 100-300 pics).  The UAV produces camera position and orientation so the obvious thing to do is to use those instead of ground control points.  A few things that weren't clear from the manual:

1- What is the naming convention for the XML files?  How can I produce these in a way that photoscan will easily import a few hundred and correctly link each file to the correct photo?
2-How does photoscan handle error in the external orientation?  Is there a least squares adjustment?  Does it warp the DTM to fit external orientation (EO) or does it adjust the EO and preserve the DTM?
3-Where in the workflow should I import the EO? Before or after the alignment?

Many thanks
Patrice

Alexey Pasumansky

• Agisoft Technical Support
    • View Profile
Re: Using camera external orientation
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2011, 01:42:30 PM »
Hello Patrice,

1) It will be easier if you use tab-separated .txt file to import camera positions in the following format:
       image_file_name (with extension)    x-coordinate    y-coordinate    height

2) PhotoScan uses least squares adjustment. During adjustment the reconstructed scene data including model geometry and camera positions is transformed so that the RMS error between estimated and measured camera positions is minimized. The transformation used is a 7 parameter similarity transform (translation + rotation + scaling).

3) Setting the ground control has to be done before aligning photos stage if you wish to select "Ground control" option as pair preselection parameter in Align Photos dialog. But anyway it is necessary to "Update" Ground Control after aligning photos is done.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC