Forum

Author Topic: E57 export  (Read 7173 times)

Sascha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
E57 export
« on: August 18, 2015, 11:00:57 AM »
I dont know if this is necessarily a bug but it is causing some problems.

We are using Agisoft Photoscan to create 3D Models.
As a result we are exporting the point cloud in e57 format.

I have tried to use the e57 export in different software for further processing and get an error in any of these.
I know our software can import e57 data, tried it with scanning data and other point clouds (not from photoscan).
Just the e57 format coming from Photoscan cannot be interpreted.

Is there any known issue?
Other people having problems using the e57 format from Photoscan?

I have been looking if there are any differences in e57 format definition, but it seems to be a standard.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14012
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 06:52:18 PM »
Hello Sascha,

Have you tried to open E57 in Cloud Compare? Does it work fine if you re-save the file for your other applications?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Sascha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2015, 02:50:33 PM »
I have downloaded CloudCompare but i cannot save any data from that software.

I can import the e57 point cloud but the button "SAVE" stays grey.

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2015, 03:41:43 PM »
I also have this problem if i try to import e57 (exported from photoscan) to Leica Cyclone. E57s from other sources have imported ok in the past.

The Cyclone error message is not very helpful though...
« Last Edit: August 25, 2015, 03:45:40 PM by James »

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2015, 04:15:15 PM »
I can open my e57 file in cloud compare.

saving out of cloud compare as e57 again and i can then import it to leica cyclone without any errors.

Sascha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2015, 04:27:26 PM »
Found it!!

Works.

Thank you very miuch.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2015, 05:50:20 PM by Sascha »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14012
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2015, 08:06:32 PM »
We have updated pre-release to build 2152: http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=4149.0
The updated version should also contain the fix for E57, so you have a chance to check export from pre-release to the external applications that previously failed to load E57 from PhotoScan, we would appreciate any feedback.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

James

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • View Profile
Re: E57 export
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2015, 10:29:45 AM »
Yes this seems to be working now in 1.2.0 build 2154, thanks!

(i missed 2152)