Forum

Author Topic: Problems exporting 3d models  (Read 822 times)

osinaldi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Problems exporting 3d models
« on: April 10, 2023, 07:13:14 AM »
When I export a 3D model from my project in obj or other format with textures it renders bad as well the mesh looks weird in any software, this doesn't happen if I don't attach the textures.  Here are the captures from Metashape screen and other software as well model info well as a link for the models exported with or without textures. Thanks, in advance.

https://www.swisstransfer.com/d/75975c4d-fdab-477c-8a56-559df28186b0

Faces   4,999,999
Vertices   2,502,655
Vertex colors   3 bands, uint8
Texture   8,192 x 8,192, 4 bands, uint8
Depth maps generation parameters   
Quality   Ultra High
Filtering mode   Moderate
Max neighbors   16
Processing time   1 hours 4 minutes
Memory usage   18.99 GB
Reconstruction parameters   
Surface type   Arbitrary
Source data   Depth maps
Interpolation   Enabled
Strict volumetric masks   No
Processing time   1 hours 43 minutes
Memory usage   12.30 GB
Texturing parameters   
Mapping mode   Generic
Blending mode   Mosaic
Texture size   8,192
Enable hole filling   Yes
Enable ghosting filter   Yes
UV mapping time   3 minutes 58 seconds
UV mapping memory usage   2.49 GB
Blending time   4 minutes 17 seconds
Blending memory usage   4.17 GB
Blending GPU memory usage   2.30 GB
Date created   2023:04:09 17:46:25
Software version   2.0.1.15925
File size   321.36 MB
« Last Edit: April 10, 2023, 07:24:13 AM by osinaldi »

Bzuco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
    • View Profile
Re: Problems exporting 3d models
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2023, 12:24:42 PM »
It seems that your model in metashape is very far from origin, which is causing in other softwares after export/import floating point precision issue. Especialy Salsipuedesv002.glb.

Shovelhead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Problems exporting 3d models
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2023, 04:15:56 PM »
Wouldn't any model that's georeferenced be far from the origin? What's the work around? Shift it in export then use it where needed then shift it back when you want it georeferenced again?

Bzuco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
    • View Profile
Re: Problems exporting 3d models
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2023, 08:26:01 PM »
Most of the 3D content creation programs are designed for 32bit floating precision numbers, which is not good for large exteriors.
Shifting is one option or find some export/import format which support double(64bit) floating precision.

osinaldi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Problems exporting 3d models
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2023, 09:16:10 PM »
Yes, it's the coordinate system if at the export windows I use the shift function all goes well.  Thank you so much for the explanation to every body. By the way how can be used the export with coordinates?