Forum

Author Topic: Multiple cameras  (Read 11176 times)

GPC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • Geopro
Multiple cameras
« on: February 09, 2011, 07:15:13 PM »
I noticed in the Professional Edition User Manual that it says:

Chapter 2: Capturing Photos
Make sure that the scene doesn't change during capturing. Use multiple synchronized cameras for dynamic scene reconstruction.

Is it possible to capture images using two separate cameras with different lenses to acquire different perspectives on the scene? How does the software distinguish between two 5DMK2 cameras each with its own 35mm lens?

When things get weird, the weird turn pro.

Jan Wesbuer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 12:14:51 AM »
Hi cs,

1. Chapter 2: I guess that this refers more to scene things that are changing between different photographs taking with a different time:
Moving Objects, Light Conditions (shadows), Reflections (bad) and so on.
The camera objective could change for example. (in this case you should have at least some photos taken with each objective so that photoscan can calibrate both in alignment-processing)

2. Yes you could take photos with different cameras.
its like you take photos with one camera and take different focal length. (having one fixed focal length would be best for bundle adjustment)
And if you have two similar cams with similar lenses you could let do Photoscan do the work (my bet is that the results are good), or i guess an even better way would be to calibrate each one separately (for example making one project with one cam -> export cam1 & doing the same with the other cam 2)) and then load the both cams into the project where you use both cameras simultaneously.
But thats only my theoretical thoughts to that... as i have not two similar cameras.

Would be nice to hear what Dmitry say regarding to that topic.

Best Regards
Jan
i use PS Pro, C4D and ZBrush on OS X

Dmitry Semyonov

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2011, 01:42:19 PM »
Hello cs,

I agree with Jan on the topic.

1. When two identical cameras (with identical lenses) are used to capture photos, PhotoScan will process them as they were taken by the same camera, and thus will maintain the same calibration data for all photos. That should be fine in most cases, as the real calibration data is likely to be very similar between the lenses.

2. If independent calibration for each camera is required, you may calibrate them manually (as Jan has described). The following procedure may be used:

- Create a new project
- Add all photos captured by the first camera
- Align the photos
- Export refined camera calibration for the first camera using "Camera Calibration" dialog from the Tools menu.
- Repeat all the above steps for the second camera.

As a result you will get two calibration files for the two cameras used. When processing all the photos at once you will need to load obtained calibration files before performing photo alignment. To do that:

- Create a new project
- Load all the photos for both cameras
- Open "Camera Calibration" dialog from the Tools menu
- Select all photos captured by the 1st camera
- Click Import... and load the 1st camera calibration file
- Select all photos captured by the 2nd camera
- Click Import... and load the 2nd camera calibration file
- Click Close button to close the dialog box

With best regards,
Dmitry Semyonov
AgiSoft LLC
With best regards,
Dmitry Semyonov
Agisoft

chatmetaleux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2016, 11:15:24 AM »
- Create a new project
- Load all the photos for both cameras
- Open "Camera Calibration" dialog from the Tools menu
- Select all photos captured by the 1st camera
- Click Import... and load the 1st camera calibration file
- Select all photos captured by the 2nd camera
- Click Import... and load the 2nd camera calibration file
- Click Close button to close the dialog box

Hi folks,
(i know it's an old topic)

Does this method still works ? I mean I have to apply 2 calib files on 2 GoPro (in stereo) images set.
When I do theses steps, I can't see if it is taken into account. The calib window shows me the last calib file and the doc.xml from chunck.zip only shows the last calib loaded.

So is there a way to use 2 different calib file on one chunk ?

Thank you in advance

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13051
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2016, 11:35:39 AM »
Hello chatmetaleux,

In the Camera Calibration window you can create several calibration groups, in case all the images are moved to the single group by default. To do than in the image selection frame in the bottom of the window choose the photos you wish to move to another calibration group, right-click on selection and choose Create Group option - new calibration group will be created in the left frame.
After that you can load the calibration data individually for each group.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

chatmetaleux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #5 on: February 29, 2016, 11:44:16 AM »
Thanks you Alexey  :D

mwbm07

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple cameras
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2019, 11:35:11 PM »
Hello Alexey,


Is there the sequence below in python?


"- Create a new project
- Load all the photos for both cameras
- Open "Camera Calibration" dialog from the Tools menu
- Select all photos captured by the 1st camera
- Click Import... and load the 1st camera calibration file
- Select all photos captured by the 2nd camera
- Click Import... and load the 2nd camera calibration file
- Click Close button to close the dialog box

Thanks