Forum

Author Topic: size for coded markes  (Read 7123 times)

andreas_IWB_TUG

• View Profile
size for coded markes
« on: December 02, 2015, 03:09:25 PM »
I am doing my master thesis with photoscan in an hydraulic lab.
Now i am preparing my scene with markers and I need more details to print them out.

e.g. Marker type 12bit,
Centerpoint radius = ?,
Targets per page = 6

I've read the the tutorial PS_1.1_Tutorial (IL) - Coded Targes and Scale Bars.pdf...
"Note that the size of the coded targets should not be too big or too small compared to the
object or scene. It is recommended that the size of central black circle-point on the taken
photo is not greater than 30 pix."

Some details from my side:
Camera resolution 6000x4000 pix
Lens with fixed focal length 24 mm
Distance capturing photos is 4.5 m, --> 0.73 mm/pix

I hope you can help me soon!

Many thanks,
Andreas

Kiesel

• View Profile
Re: size for coded markes
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 06:42:05 PM »
Hello Andreas,

you have done the math by yourselve and only missed the last step  ;)

0,73 mm/pix * 30 pix = 21,9 mm

So a little bit less than that.

Karsten

Dave Martin

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 06:45:54 PM »
and Andreas, to get fine control and markers of a specific size, as has been recommended on this forum recently, just print them from PhotoScan to PDF and you can then use your Acrobat reader or similar to vary the size when you print to paper.

Dave

andreas_IWB_TUG

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2015, 07:24:52 PM »
Many thanks for your quick reply!

@ Karsten, size:
but how is the size of the central black circle-point defined? Is it diameter, radius or area?
in the tutorial i only can find this upper limit of 30pix or in my case 21.9mm ... when is it too small?

I'm looking for a range of this radius related to ability being detected, accuracy, picture size, image resolution, ...

@Dave, printing: