Forum

Author Topic: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "  (Read 13854 times)

bikramG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« on: March 28, 2016, 10:22:08 AM »
I am trying to perfrom  Dense Cloud Classification and DTM Generation with Agisoft PhotoScan Professional. I am referring this link for that - http://www.agisoft.com/index.php?id=35 .  I have classified the dense point cloud into ground, noise and created (never classified) classes. While generating mesh (as explained in the link), I am getting error as Empty surface. As far as I know there is no issue with the point cloud. Even on directly generating DEM also I am not able to view the data on the viewer

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 10:23:32 AM »
Hello bikramG,

Empty surface message usually means that the bounding box doesn't contain any reasonable amount of points from the source point cloud.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

bikramG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 10:49:35 AM »
Thanks for the help. But I am not able to set the bounding box, I am not getting the bounding box. I am attaching the view what I am getting. In fact now when I am trying to generate mesh I am getting Error: Empty region.

PS: The version is v1.2.3 (64bits)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2016, 11:04:31 AM »
Hello bikramG,

From the screenshot I can see that you don't have any tie points in the project, so Reset Region option wouldn't work.
However, if you switch to the Resize Region mode you would be able so see the corners of the box collapsed to the same point and then you can manually resize the region and orient it properly so that it include the dense cloud.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

bikramG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2016, 12:29:54 PM »
Hello Alexey,

After putting my point cloud inside the bounding box, still I am getting error Empty Surface . In fact I had few tie points (they are flagged) also. I am including another screenshot for the reference.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2016, 12:37:05 PM »
Hello bikramG,

Are you using dense cloud as a source for the mesh generation?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

bikramG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2016, 02:34:36 PM »
Hello Alexey,

Yes I am using dense cloud as a source of mesh generation and in advanced setting I am only selecting ground class dor mesh generation.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13990
    • View Profile
Re: Error while building mesh - " Error: Empty surface "
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2016, 02:37:08 PM »
Hello bikramG,

Is there a possibility to place the project re-saved in PSZ format to some file holder and send us the download link to support@agisoft.com? Or we can create an ftp account for you on our server for the project data upload.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC