Forum

Author Topic: Measuring Volumes  (Read 8373 times)

GregorySukull

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Measuring Volumes
« on: May 25, 2016, 01:37:46 PM »
Dear All,

I am using a DJI Phantom 3 Advanced to do aerial mapping of a gold mining pit. However I would like to be able to calculate the volumes of the gravel piles. Can I get some help on how to go about doing this with Agisoft Photscan pro?

Thanks
Greg

Mohammed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 09:22:11 PM »
1- first you need to Specify the area u need to calculate the Volume by select it and delete or classify the unneeded area.
2- Make sure u build the Mesh
3- Make sure the mesh is closed
4- Go to Tools----Mesh---Measure area and Volume

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2016, 04:53:31 PM »
Also it is possible to measure volumes in the Ortho view based on the Digital Elevation Model.
Just draw a polygonal shape, right-click on it and choose Measure option. The volume measurement will be available on the third tab of the Measure dialog.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

HMArnold

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2016, 07:51:32 PM »
Tornado2011 and/or Alexey,

I'm very interested in being able to measure volumes of large, well defined piles of gravel.

I have good photo coverage, complete alignment, dense cloud, mesh, and DEM steps completed.

I can draw a "Free Form Selection" around the pile, but on the TOOLS/MEASURE function I get a surface area but not a volume.

Tornado2011, how do you close the mesh on a vertical structure like a pile of gravel?

Alexey, is the "Ortho View" you describe the one in the attached image? when I right click on it I don't get a MEASURE option.

Is this covered in any tutorial I can study?

Thanks in advance.

Hank
Texas

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2016, 07:59:46 PM »
Hello Hank,

You can switch to the Ortho view by double-clicking on the orthomosaic/DEM label in the Workspace pane.

So Ortho view shouldn't be mixed with the Orthographic projection in the Model view.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

HMArnold

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2016, 08:43:15 PM »
Alexey,

That worked perfectly and gave me three volumes, two very close together.

Do any of the three calculate the volume above a flat plane created by the polygon?

Thanks

Hank

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Measuring Volumes
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2016, 09:01:28 PM »
Hello Hank,

Mean level means that the base plane is parallel to the coordinate system XY plane while it's elevation level (z value) is the average altitude value for every vertex of the drawn polygon.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC