Forum

Author Topic: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl  (Read 4266 times)

Orsat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« on: June 25, 2016, 08:29:07 PM »
Hello everyone,

I made a textured 3D model of a small 1m statue in Photoscan. I placed Photoscan targets around the model while taking photos. I measured distance between them and used them to add scales in Photoscan after the 3D model was complete. I added 5 scales and the errors were about 0,5cm for most of them. I was careful to enter the values in correct units.
The problem is - when I export the 3D model to .stl format and open it in my 3d-Tool FreeViewer V12 the scale is completely messed up and the model dimensions are abut 1000 times smaller. It measures about 1 mm high now.
Do you have idea where is the issue and can you recommend some good software for viewing .stl files?

Thanks

ekbmuts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2016, 08:21:14 AM »
What's your project scale?

In 3ds max (which is what I use) it's important that the project scale is set correctly (to meters in my case) or yes, the model comes out about as big as a speck of dust...

Jon

ekbmuts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2016, 08:23:41 AM »
P.S.  Here's a stupid question for you:  What are "Photoscan markers"? 

Do you mean just plain old scale references that you place on the ground?  Or are there markers created by Agisoft for use with Photoscan?

Dave Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2016, 09:45:34 AM »
In PhotoScan you can print coded markers using Tools / Markers / Print markers

ekbmuts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 11:52:20 PM »
Well, what do you know!

I always wondered what that print button was for.  I thought it was to print the markers that I had placed in the scene and never understood why on earth I'd want to print those.

I'm going to print some right now!

Thanks.

Jon

Orsat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Model not properly scaled when exported to .stl
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2016, 09:43:06 PM »
Yes, I printed and used Agisoft markers. I attached two screenshots in my post. On first is the model and position of the markers around it. On second you can see all the scale bars.
Theoretically, once I put the scale bars and click on Update button on top of the reference pane, the model should be properly scaled, right? And after that when I right click on the model and export it to .stl file it should still be properly scaled, right?
I can't find what went wrong here....