Forum

Author Topic: Nvidia GTX 1080  (Read 9391 times)

KellyNess

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Nvidia GTX 1080
« on: July 11, 2016, 02:33:23 AM »
I purchased a new GPU
https://www.zotac.com/ca/product/graphics_card/zotac-geforce-gtx-1080-founders-edition

It seems to be installed correctly according to the GeForce Experiance application(all check marks are present)

However, when I load Agisoft PhotoScan Professional, the Model view is not displaying.

I can see the ortho view on existing projects, but the Model tab is blank.

Has anyone had luck with this GPU, or have any advice on how to get it working correctly?

Thanks in advance.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14003
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2016, 10:01:52 AM »
Hello KellyNess,

Are you using the computer with this GPU locally or with a remote connection?

Also do you see any error messages in the Console pane when you load any project and try to switch to the Model view?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

stephan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2016, 03:54:52 PM »
I have the same problem using windows server 2012 connecting remotely, the error that I get is:

Code: [Select]
ocl_engine.cpp line 231: clEnqueueWriteBuffer failed, CL_MEM_OBJECT_ALLOCATION_FAILURE

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14003
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2016, 04:24:02 PM »
Hello stephan,

Which utility you are using for the remote connection?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

stephan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2016, 04:59:22 PM »
Hello stephan,

Which utility you are using for the remote connection?

Remote desktop, but I am certain that this is not an issue because I have used the same machine with other GPUs with no errors in the past.

olihar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2016, 08:54:54 PM »
Use TeamViewer, it will work.

MeHoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2016, 06:10:40 AM »
Or google remote desktop.. remote desktop in windows kills the openCL calculations on the cards.. teamviewer and google remote desktop preserve this.  Hope it helps.

grommit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2016, 08:53:13 PM »
So if I can could buy any card, including AMD or Quadro, is a 1080 currently the fastest for Agisoft calculations?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14003
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2016, 10:16:05 PM »
Hello grommit,

We haven't yet tested GTX 1080, but so far Quadro M6000 was about 10% faster than GTX 980 Ti or GTX TITAN X. Yet not sure, if 1080 would be considerably faster than 980 Ti.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

jsloat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2016, 01:24:43 AM »
At my company, we have GTX 1080 FE installed on most of our computers. Some run Win 7 and some Windows 10.

As the author of this thread mentioned, in any version of PhotoScan Pro running on Windows 10, no graphics card shows up in the preferences panel of Photoscan where you would choose it.
And this is NOT going over any remote desktop, it's a direct monitor connection to the machine.

Machines running Win 7, the 1080 shows up just fine.

I looked all around the NVidia settings to see if I needed to enable OpenCL or some such but did not find anything.

Would love to have a solution soon as we have been planning to unify our environments under Windows 10.

Best,
Jay
Los Angeles
 

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14003
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2016, 07:17:30 AM »
Hello Jay,

Could you please check that latest NVidia drivers are installed on Windows 10 machine?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

ThomasVD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2016, 12:23:11 PM »
I'm having the same issue as jsloat, but only since yesterday (updated to latest GTX 1080 drivers 2 days ago). It may be an Nvidia driver issue (or Windows 10 issue) rather than a PhotoScan issue since when I run GPU Caps Viewer it also doesn't show any OpenCL devices... annoying.

ThomasVD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2016, 12:43:54 PM »
It seems to be a Windows 10 update issue: I rolled back to an earlier build of Windows 10 (type "Go back" in Windows search and follow instructions) and now OpenCL is again detected! Gah wish I'd just stuck to Windows 7.

jsloat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Nvidia GTX 1080 (working now in Win 10 with newest NVidia driver 372.90)
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2016, 11:25:18 PM »
I just wanted to follow up, that after loading the latest NVidia drive ver 372.90 (out within the last day or two)
my GTX 1080 FE graphics card now shows up in the PhotoScan OpenCL prefs window on my Windows 10 system.

Best,
-Jay Sloat-