Forum

Author Topic: Interior scan question  (Read 4673 times)

Snoopey

• View Profile
Interior scan question
« on: July 16, 2016, 09:14:53 PM »
Hi all,

I'm a complete newb to all this and wanted to build a quick model of my office room for use in VR.
I'm having an issue which is that photooscan is ignoring the walls and ceiling of my room when building a point cloud and mesh. I'm only getting the floor and a few items on my desk.
I'm sure there are some simple settings I've missed which will tell the software not to exclude these plain homogeneous areas but I can't find it.

I've attached where my scan is at the moment.

I'm not really fussed about the quality at the moment, as long as I can see roughly where I am in my room :)

Vlad

• View Profile
Re: Interior scan question
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2016, 02:45:25 AM »
Please show camera placement. Probably you just not have enough coverage on walls or walls on photos at angle more than 45ยบ

ekbmuts

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2016, 05:02:37 AM »
I would add that if your walls are plain and with no visible texture or features, Photoscan will have trouble with that.  The program needs to be able to identify features so that it can discern depth and placement of elements in its final model.  Blank white walls are IMHO one of the worst things to try to scan.

You can project a texture onto the wall.  I've seen that done with models also.  Project a random texture onto the walls to give Photoscan something to see and grab onto.