Forum

Author Topic: What lense for my d50 ?  (Read 3161 times)

francelet

• View Profile
What lense for my d50 ?
« on: August 05, 2016, 02:51:08 AM »
Hello,

I have a nikon d50 and lense: AF-S Nikkor 55-300mm 1:4.5-5.6 G ED
I know 55-300mm is not good fo photogrammetry so i want update that
I think my budget is 200$ max because my d50 is old and dont want update old stuff and the purpose is for making assets for games, (objects little and also big like rocks, houses,  ans why not faces and drone

so i found Nikon Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8 D-AF
so... i'm not a expert but i heard prime 50mm is far better than zoom, do you think that will be a big difference with my  55-300mm or should i save some cash and buy in 2 years ~ a better camera?

oh and i dont know if AF-S 35 mm f/1,8 G is better...
I'm lost :/
Thanks very much

Francois
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 06:30:10 PM by francelet »

francelet

• View Profile
Re: What lense for my d50 ?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2016, 06:26:40 PM »
Now i wonder if NIKON 50MM F/1.8G worth the price because its more expensice than the older version 1.8D... for create some  assets for a game it is worth? i'm totally lost XD
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 06:29:06 PM by francelet »

ekbmuts

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2016, 03:49:31 AM »
Have you tried your 55-300mm lens to see what results you can get?

It's not that this lens won't work for you.  It absolutely will.  A prime lens (one without a zoom) might work better.  Probably will. But that 55-300 is going to do just fine to get you started.

Photoscan recommends that you set it at either 55mm or 300mm.  I'm going to go out on a limb and say that you will probably want to set it at 55mm, unless you're photographing ants or something like that.

What is way, way more important than the lens that you are using is (amongst other things):

1.  Good, in-focus shots.

2.  Even lighting, no shadows.