Forum

Author Topic: Tiff orthophoto property  (Read 4736 times)

lidaky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Tiff orthophoto property
« on: October 11, 2012, 02:29:15 AM »
Hi,

I recently started using agisoft to process some aerial pictures. My input images are in the JPEG format, made up of three layers: RGB. When I come to export my orthophoto to a GeoTiff, the resulting file has 4 layers. Why it added a layer and how do I control that?
I want to do some image classification based on the RGB values of the orthophoto, therefore it is important to me to understand what these 4 layers means in respect to the 3 originals.
Thanks for the help.

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Tiff orthophoto property
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 02:30:56 AM »
mostly is it the TRANSPARENCY layer - ALPHA channel, can open it in Photoshop ??
----------------
www.mhb.sk

lidaky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tiff orthophoto property
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 03:17:11 AM »
YEs, got it.

the first 3 layers are RGB, the one I need.
So what id the transparency layer for?
Thanks for your answer
Simon

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Tiff orthophoto property
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 09:13:03 AM »
Transparency international :-)

Sometimes it a very usefull feature for masking, but it could be deleted if not used = smaller file size..

----------------
www.mhb.sk