Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release  (Read 73359 times)

Maharg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #30 on: July 24, 2012, 05:51:37 PM »
Brilliant!  You guys are the best!

glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #31 on: July 28, 2012, 02:59:52 AM »
Is there any noticable speed differences etc with standard edition and professional edition ?
Cheers
Glen

glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #32 on: July 28, 2012, 03:50:27 AM »
OpenCL
I am presuming the openCL drivers come with nvidia drivers as standard and AGI automatically picks up your device in the preferences ?
Do I have to install seperate openCL drivers or anything like that?
I have a single GTX680 OC 2GB card.
So turning openCL on and setting 7/8 cores would be the correct setup ?
Im still not sure if there is a noticable improvement with a scene yet.  I am still running more tests.

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #33 on: July 28, 2012, 04:15:23 PM »
Glen can send us the benchmark of the 680 card ? run a scene with 3 images, with HIGH setting and ARBITARY and SMOOTH, the see in the console for the SAMPLES/SEC of the 680 card....
----------------
www.mhb.sk

glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #34 on: July 29, 2012, 02:42:47 AM »
Hey WG
I am running
i7-3820 @3.6GHz ..overclocked to 4.0GHz
32GB RAM
win7 64 version of 0.9.0 pre release

3 images and set to High Arbitrary  Smooth (100,000 polys)

Device 1 performance: 118.964 million samples/sec (CPU)
Device 2 performance: 199.001 million samples/sec (GeForce GTX 680)
Total performance: 317.964 million samples/sec

olihar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #35 on: July 29, 2012, 09:53:39 PM »
This is pretty interesting... I think I will stick to the GTX580, the 680 cards seems to be driver crippled as people thought.

3 Images same settings as you used.

Code: [Select]
Device 1 performance: 166.105 million samples/sec (CPU)
Device 2 performance: 293.831 million samples/sec (GeForce GTX 580)
Total performance: 459.936 million samples/sec

I have

i7-3930K over-clocked to 4.5GHz
64GM RAM
MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC
win7 64bit

Such a shame of Nvidia to do this.

Then moving up to Ultra on these 3 particular image I got about: 333 million samples/sec (GeForce GTX 580)

Hey WG
I am running
i7-3820 @3.6GHz ..overclocked to 4.0GHz
32GB RAM
win7 64 version of 0.9.0 pre release

3 images and set to High Arbitrary  Smooth (100,000 polys)

Device 1 performance: 118.964 million samples/sec (CPU)
Device 2 performance: 199.001 million samples/sec (GeForce GTX 680)
Total performance: 317.964 million samples/sec
« Last Edit: July 29, 2012, 09:57:01 PM by olihar »

Wishgranter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
    • Museum of Historic Buildings
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #36 on: July 30, 2012, 12:01:14 AM »
Hello Oli, it seem realy asim mentioned earlier, have few benches for 580 and even the 590 this is first of the 680. can anyone post the 680 test data , im preparing a google docs table with data for all......
----------------
www.mhb.sk

glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #37 on: July 30, 2012, 02:41:49 AM »
nutz !
I just sold my other cards too.  I should have kept them.  Perhaps NVidia will post a driver update soon for 680 ?

glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #38 on: July 30, 2012, 03:09:22 AM »
Heres a quick bench with the openCL turned off.

Device 1 performance: 168.758 million samples/sec (CPU)
Total performance: 168.758 million samples/sec

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #39 on: July 30, 2012, 01:29:43 PM »
Hello glennn,

Quote
Is there any noticable speed differences etc with standard edition and professional edition ?
No there is no difference in processing speed between Standard and Professional editions (unless Ground Control pre-selection is used at Align Photos stage).

Quote
I am presuming the openCL drivers come with nvidia drivers as standard and AGI automatically picks up your device in the preferences ?
Do I have to install seperate openCL drivers or anything like that?
Installing up-to-date drivers for your graphic card is usually enough for PhotoScan to recognize OpenCL device.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #40 on: July 30, 2012, 01:34:31 PM »
Hello all,

Checking GPU performance in PhotoScan in the way mentioned above is not really correct, since it depend on different factors. We have tested GTX 680 by "pure" PhotoScan performance tests and the results are nearly equal to the result of GTX 580.

To check the performance experimentally you have to process the same dataset (with the same quality and bounding box selected) and also to disable all CPU cores. Thus the comparison will be more adequate.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Maharg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #41 on: August 13, 2012, 11:37:58 AM »
I have been attempting Ultra High mesh generations recently with a new computer and have been running into the memory error.  It seems that the reconstructing depth step is using over 4 gb of memory but when it goes on to generating meshes it ramps down to 4 gb max, uses only 4 cpus on the calculating, no gpu, and then fails with a memory error. 

Though this is just speculative...does generating meshes just x86 itself all of a sudden?

I have 32 gb of ram with a Radeon 7970.  The open cl is working fantastically on reconstructing depth.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #42 on: August 13, 2012, 11:50:51 AM »
Hello Maharg,

GPU devices are not used during generating mesh step of the Build Geometry stage.

How many images are you processing and of what resolution? And what geometry/object type are specified in Build Geometry dialog?

And please make sure you have 64bit version of PhotoScan installed.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Maharg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #43 on: August 13, 2012, 12:39:09 PM »
Hey Alexey!

I disabled most of my images...only 11 are active for this generation.  I have only used the 64 bit version, in fact reconstructing depth goes well above 8gb, but then generating mesh goes up to 4.3 ish then crashes out.  I also double checked my ram with prime and everything checked out.

Thank you,
G

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14103
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 0.9.0 pre-release
« Reply #44 on: August 13, 2012, 01:06:53 PM »
Hello Maharg,

Does PhotoScan crashes or just fails to build geometry with error message? Maybe the bounding box could be reduced?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC