Forum

Author Topic: Question about meshing  (Read 1821 times)

Dieter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Question about meshing
« on: August 17, 2016, 07:28:16 PM »
Hi to all.

Picture 1 : point cloud with 131028691 points.
The meshing was performed over the whole point cloud.

Picture 2 : a detail from the point cloud with 363000 Points.
The meshing was done with the same parameters as in the first Picture.

The result is much worse.


The ratio of points to triangles in both cases is 5 : 1

How can i archive the same result as in Picture 2 with the whole Pointcloud?
In my opinion , the result should be the same!?


Produced with google translator :(

Thanks
Dieter

MeHoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Question about meshing
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2016, 05:11:19 AM »
Bounding box seems to limit the amount of polygons possible (doesn't seem to affect dense cloud count - that seems entirely limited by memory).  Try using detail chunks and then merging chunks together.  It will retain the detail in those areas.

I had a section of a wall that was mostly flat-ish.. 2-3" deviations in depth.. nothing huge.. then there were sections I covered much more closely with many more angles that were far deeper.. I duplicated the chunk, sectioned off these "detail chunks" with smaller bounding boxes, and I re-ran them with the highest settings possible.  The results were night and day.  I then merged the chunks, including even the mesh, and the results were very obviously different quality in those sections. 

I wish this whole process was easier, bu it does seem to work in some cases.  This seems to be limited by memory.. as a dense cloud at high with a huge bounding box is nearly the exact same quality as one with a much smaller bounding box in most scenes.  If you process on low, detail out areas, process them on high and merge, they will retain their quality for the final mesh generation from my experience testing.

Hope that helps!

Dieter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Question about meshing
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2016, 09:04:59 AM »
Thank you for the quick answer,

i tried this way already, but this in not the solution for me.

The smaller the box, the better the result. The better the result will be, the more work I have with your way.


There must be a way to archive the best result with the whole model, therfore i have 128gb memory in my PC.

What do the developers saying?


Thanks
Dieter








MeHoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Question about meshing
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2016, 03:09:06 PM »
Yeah I bought 256 gigs of memory to avoid slow work processes, but so far it's been unavoidable.. :/