Forum

Author Topic: Benchmarking a GPUs  (Read 81007 times)

JohnyJoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #90 on: April 03, 2015, 11:15:23 PM »
Hm... maybe i saw this aswel, but photoscna uses open cl 1 (or 1,1) i think, the test uses probably later versions of open cl...?

Can anyone confirm that this test is useable for gpu agisoft comparison?

Lambo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #91 on: June 09, 2015, 07:22:36 AM »
Hello everyone, I just finished building a new machine for Photoscan processing. It uses an Intel I7-5820K processor, 32GB of DDR4 RAM and an AMD HD 7990 video card. For those that dont know this card, it is composed of 2 HD 7970's "sandwiched" together into 1 single card with 6GB of memory.
The results I got were pretty good. I ran the building test in Ultra high.

Device 1 performance: 192.642 million samples/sec (CPU)
Device 2 performance: 869.168 million samples/sec (Tahiti)
Device 3 performance: 847.02 million samples/sec (Tahiti)
Total performance: 1908.83 million samples/sec

I will tweak the video card and overclock it a bit to see what can it do.
Will report back soon.

Leo

Lambo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #92 on: June 22, 2015, 12:45:47 PM »
Well unfortunately as some people might know already, even though this is a beast of a video card, the HD 7990 is not good at overclocking :(  Even with the highest settings you can set in the AMD Overdrive or Afterburner, the difference in performance is minimal.
Anyway, I am happy that the card performs so well in stock form though :)

Leo

barrubba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #93 on: February 05, 2016, 10:18:55 PM »
hot to test my gpu and compare it with that?
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Agisoft-PhotoScan-GPU-Acceleration-710/
which scene test they used?
thanks

3DFranz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #94 on: March 22, 2016, 04:00:40 PM »
Anybody tested the Radeon R9 390X2 yet?   (=Dual-GPU, 2x 8 GB GDDR5 Ram, 2x Grenada Pro Chip at 1000 MHz)

are 2 R9 390X faster for Agisoft?

or should I use 2 GTX 980 Ti ?

Thx for your advise.


bulls4ever

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #95 on: September 02, 2016, 09:13:27 PM »
I tested Titan X Pascal: 1900 msamples/sec on monument medium (stock settings). it gets hot on overclocking and not really worth the extra 100.

My gtx 1080 does around 1080 on stock and 1330 on max overclock.


glennn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #96 on: September 12, 2016, 02:00:12 PM »
Currently testing Titan X Pascal in SLI
I bought the wrong HB bridge but tests with 2 cards installed are still terrible.
Has anyone else tried Titan X in SLI ?
What was your setup?

Im currently using a x79 rig with 3960X CPU oc @4.5ghz

Testing with the monument sample file on High quality and getting 532 seconds.  Which seems no faster than my 970 sli rig
Any suggestions?
Cheers

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #97 on: September 12, 2016, 02:08:16 PM »
Anybody tested the Radeon R9 390X2 yet?   (=Dual-GPU, 2x 8 GB GDDR5 Ram, 2x Grenada Pro Chip at 1000 MHz)

are 2 R9 390X faster for Agisoft?

or should I use 2 GTX 980 Ti ?

Thx for your advise.

Im not shure whats the benefit of this... than you can install 2x R9 390X with each 8GB and youll have the same performance  but will cost about 200 EUR less...


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12940
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #98 on: September 13, 2016, 11:50:21 AM »
Hello glennn,

Using SLI wouldn't improve the processing performance in PhotoScan, so it's better to remove SLI connector.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Benchmarking a GPUs
« Reply #99 on: September 13, 2016, 12:12:26 PM »
probably also the crossfire link, right? So GPUs should be always run in single mode, right?