Forum

Author Topic: Working with Chunks or not?  (Read 2911 times)

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Working with Chunks or not?
« on: March 15, 2017, 11:36:09 AM »
Dear all

I'm working on an area mapping of about 1 square kilometer with about 8-10 single flights. Should I place the picture of each flight in a single chunk and create 8-10 chunks or put all the 6000 pictures into one single chunk? Whats best to deal with it?

Thanks for helping

Thibaud Capra

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Master Student in Geodetic Engineering & Surveying
    • View Profile
    • INSA de Strasbourg, Topography Engineering (French)
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 11:58:33 AM »
Depending on your flight overlap, I would regroup two flights per chunk.

Then again, it depends on the overlap you have, and the processing computer. You may want to divide chunks in smaller pieces if computing power is potentially an issue.
Best regards.
--
Thibaud CAPRA
Master Student in Geodetic Engineering, Cartography & Surveying
Master Thesis in Automated Processing of UAV-based Photogrammetric Data (ResearchGate Link)
INSA de Strasbourg, FRANCE
--

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2017, 03:41:13 AM »
Im wondering why the chunk alignment is so extremely slow and takes over 24 hours....

it looks it would be better to align all those pictures into one chunk...

Any help on this?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14968
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2017, 12:38:08 PM »
Hello GrinGEO,

If you are running point based chunk alignment, PhotoScan will start the image matching process again for all the photos from all the chunks being aligned.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2017, 03:34:12 PM »
ok so whats the better option?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14968
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2017, 05:15:33 PM »
Hello GrinGEO,

If you are processing the flights separately - align and optimize each chunk individually, in this case chunks will be automatically aligned in the same coordinate system, so no additional chunk alignment would be required.
Alternatively, align and optimize everything in the single chunk and then, if necessary, use duplicated chunks to generate the dense cloud in the smaller volumes.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2017, 11:09:00 PM »
unfortunately Agisoft after the merging that took 28h it killed an entire chunk and there is no way to go back. Really disappointed about this....

GrinGEO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Working with Chunks or not?
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2017, 01:32:21 AM »
how can I export the entire model based on 2 chunks to google kmz? If I export only one chunk (the active one) is exportet...

thanks