Forum

Author Topic: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does  (Read 5264 times)

ahogrelius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« on: July 14, 2017, 12:43:12 AM »
I'm having issues with he latest version of Photoscan under Windows 10 Pro 64-bit. The latest version will not detect the GPU (Nvidia Quadro FX3800) but older versions 1.1.6 and 1.2.0 does find it.

There seem to be other issues as well though. With the latest Nvidia driver version 342.00 Photoscan crashes when aligning the photos with an error message saying that the Nvidia OpenGL driver detected a problem with the display driver. With an older Nvidia driver 341.81 the same problem occurs but when build ing the dense cloud.

The rest of the hardware should be more than capable of running Photoscan. It is a HP dual Xeon Hex Core (X5670) Workstation with 64GB of RAM.

Any suggestions?

Photoscan does work without the GPU but is of course much slower when processing the photos.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14107
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 10:39:43 AM »
Hello ahogrelius,

Starting from the version 1.3 PhotoScan is using CUDA for NVIDIA graphic cards. It requires compute capability 2.0 and higher. In the older versions OpenCL has been used for GPU-based calculations.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

ahogrelius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2017, 10:38:35 PM »
Yes, but  this doesn't explain why the old version of Photoscan crashes the OpenCL driver in both Nvidia driver version 341.81 and the latest driver 342.00.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2017, 10:43:51 PM by ahogrelius »

ahogrelius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 10:59:04 PM »
 >:( >:( >:(

I'm seriously beginning to regret buying this software!

We updated the graphcs card to the EXACT model on the hardware list under System Requirements (Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti) and there are still problems.


The graphics card is detected but the system crashes when the GPU is used for calculations. No error messages, nothing in the logs, no blue screen of death, nothing. Just a hard crash that reboots the system.

It seems to be the same problem as this: http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=6977.msg33659#msg33659

I'm trying an older pre-CUDA version to see if that helps.

The 1.3 versions are pretty much useless as it is now.

Update: I can confirm that this is a bug in the 1.3.x version that does not exist in the 1.2.x series. I have successfully been able to build a dense cloud in 1.2.0 where 1.3.2 crashes every time.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 12:45:13 AM by ahogrelius »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14107
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 01:04:21 AM »
Hello ahogrelius,

Such behavior is likely related to the hardware issues, so if you have properly installed graphic card driver, please make sure that there are no power supply or overheat issues.

I can suggest to run some stress tests on GPU to check if the graphic card is working properly.


Quote
It seems to be the same problem as this: http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=6977.msg33659#msg33659
The message that you are referring to is related to CUDA processing issues on certain graphic cards in the version 1.3.1 that lead to application crash (not OS crash), that issue mentioned in the first post of the thread has been fixed in the version 1.3.2.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 01:09:00 AM by Alexey Pasumansky »
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

ahogrelius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2017, 01:13:53 AM »
I tried the "special" version that of 1.3.2 that uses the older OpenCL routines with our old graphics card and it has the exact same issues so it is definitely not related to the graphics card at all. I do not believe it is hardware related either since the old 1.2.0 version runs without crashing the OS.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14107
    • View Profile
Re: Photoscan 1.3.2 x64 does not find GPU, 1.2.0 does
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2017, 10:29:23 AM »
Hello ahogrelius,

Can you enable writing the processing log to file in the Preferences settings and provide the output from this file related to the crashed operation?

We have tested PhotoScan on GTX 980 Ti, and do not encounter any issues.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC