Forum

Author Topic: Licensing for network processing  (Read 6832 times)

tarkhil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Licensing for network processing
« on: March 10, 2015, 02:53:24 PM »
Hello

It's unclear from manual if I have to purchase a license for every processing server or just for client node controlling the process?

Marcel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Re: Licensing for network processing
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 02:58:58 PM »
You need a Pro license for every network node as far as I know.

A separate 'network node license' that only does network processing would make more sense I think.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14099
    • View Profile
Re: Licensing for network processing
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 03:04:52 PM »
Hello tarkhil,

Currently each computer involved in network processing (either in server or node mode) requires PhotoScan Pro to be installed and activated with the separate license.
The client GUI can be run from any of the nodes (or server) or can be started from other computer in the network not involved in the network processing.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

tarkhil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Licensing for network processing
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 04:48:08 PM »
Currently each computer involved in network processing (either in server or node mode) requires PhotoScan Pro to be installed and activated with the separate license.

... which render all the idea 100% unusable for me. Okay, I think I'll do a try with trial, just to see if I'll be able to improve performance.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14099
    • View Profile
Re: Licensing for network processing
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2017, 02:18:40 PM »
Hello tarkhil,

Currently each computer involved in network processing (either in server or node mode) requires PhotoScan Pro to be installed and activated with the separate license.
The client GUI can be run from any of the nodes (or server) or can be started from other computer in the network not involved in the network processing.
I see that some users are quoting this thread when contacting us via e-mail. So just as an update to actual version of PhotoScan I would like to mention, that PhotoScan instance run in server mode only doesn't require the license  activation  - only processing nodes and client application run in GUI mode (to perform some changes to the project) require activation.

Additional information is available in Chapter 8 of PhotoScan Professional manual:
http://www.agisoft.com/pdf/photoscan-pro_1_3_en.pdf
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC