Forum

Author Topic: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release  (Read 184668 times)

Mohammed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #285 on: December 26, 2017, 02:29:51 AM »
Hi

Merge Tie point not included yet in Merging Chunk option in Batch process.

Thanks
Mohamed
« Last Edit: December 26, 2017, 02:32:04 AM by tornado2011 »

zView

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #286 on: December 26, 2017, 09:05:49 AM »
Export Cameras in file exchange format is being cut off at exactly 2 GB. Is there a way to fix it?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #287 on: December 26, 2017, 11:28:09 AM »
I know, in version 1.3.4 all work good. But here there are no any point after buildPoints(). Its may code which work in version 1.3.4.
Code: [Select]
chunk.importCameras(locationpath, format=PhotoScan.CamerasFormatXML)
chunk.matchPhotos(accuracy=PhotoScan.HighAccuracy,  generic_preselection=True, filter_mask=True, keypoint_limit=100000, tiepoint_limit=4000)
chunk.buildPoints()
I have checked it in the latest pre-release and it worked as expected, can you please make sure that cameras are properly imported (including the distortion information)?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

jinjamu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #288 on: December 26, 2017, 07:11:29 PM »
Hello John,

In the build 5543 you can select the points that includes the problematic area (no need to have an accurate selection) while looking from top, then in the Tools Menu select Dense Cloud -> Invert Point Normals option and in the related dialog check on "Opposite normals" option only. In this case only incorrectly oriented normals will be inverted.

Works perfectly! Thanks very much.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2017, 07:13:02 PM by jinjamu »

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #289 on: December 26, 2017, 09:01:08 PM »
The images are almost completely featureless white painted surfaces so the best way to check overlap used to be to visually identify tiny defects in the paint finish and flip to the next image and back quickly multiple times to see if they exist in adjacent images or not.

This is impossible to do now the image disappears, reappears pixelated, and then takes a couple of seconds to load in full each time you switch.

FYI I have found that opening the relevant images into multiple tabs pretty much solves this for me.
Hello James,

Have you tried to switch off multithread image loading in the Advanced Preferences tab? I think it should re-create the old behavior of the image loading for you.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Seboon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #290 on: December 28, 2017, 10:44:38 PM »
Hello,

With the last update available, the option to hide items when capturing image from model view seems to have disappeared.
With API scripting, it also doesn't work.

Thanks if you can fix that in next release.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 11:29:18 PM by Seboon »
S.Poudroux
Archaeologist - Topographer - Drone remote pilot

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #291 on: December 29, 2017, 04:38:26 PM »
With the last update available, the option to hide items when capturing image from model view seems to have disappeared.
With API scripting, it also doesn't work.
Hello Seboon,

We'll fix the Python function in the next 1.4.0 update.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BjFaeTorphins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #292 on: December 29, 2017, 09:14:06 PM »
I believe I'm experiencing some kind of stability problem with v1.4 Build 5532 Standard Edition.

The symptoms are that a very large number of Handles (16M and 31M on two separate runs) are created over time and my machine pretty much comes to a halt. By coming to a halt I mean unresponsive to mouse or keyboard.

Only one of the 36 available cores (core 2) is doing anything, it is at 100%.  all other cores are essentially idle.

It's an Intel i9 with 128Gb memory and twin EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Gaming 11 GPUs.

This happens many hours (10+) into the photo alignment stage of processing a 7200+ camera model.

On one occasion while running the above mentioned big model I got impatient and started up a 2nd copy of Photoscan to build a mesh using the new algorithm on a model that I had originally aligned using version 1.3.4.  It was a  smaller model (3200 cameras). I noted during this run that again only core 2 was at 100%.  It got to a stage with 16,000,000+ handles that neither copy of Photoscan seem to be making any progress.  I tried pausing one then the other but neither paused or made any progress (no output to the console).  When the copy of Photoscan that had been running for 12+ hours was killed the handles reduced to 15,000 or so proving it was the long running copy of Photoscan that appears to be leaking Handles.

PS: Memory usage is fairly low (<25% of 128GB).

HTH

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #293 on: December 29, 2017, 09:51:51 PM »
Hello bjb,

Do you have the processing log related to any of these operations? Which parameters you are using for the processing?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BjFaeTorphins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #294 on: December 29, 2017, 10:54:42 PM »
log file is too big.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #295 on: December 29, 2017, 10:56:46 PM »
log file is too big.
Maybe you can provide its final part that is related to the problematic operation only?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BjFaeTorphins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #296 on: December 29, 2017, 11:39:12 PM »
log file is too big.
Maybe you can provide its final part that is related to the problematic operation only?

Without documentation of the console log how can i know what is the problematic operation?

Log file from the start of the process is 17Mb. so it's hard to see how to cut it down to 512kb

BjFaeTorphins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #297 on: December 29, 2017, 11:48:51 PM »
Please see attached screen shot.

The Building Model stage is only using one core.

BjFaeTorphins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #298 on: December 30, 2017, 12:47:29 PM »
Please see attached screen shot.

The Building Model stage is only using one core.

15 hours later.

Is it hung?  One core is 100%


Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14328
    • View Profile
Re: Agisoft PhotoScan 1.4.0 pre-release
« Reply #299 on: December 30, 2017, 12:51:02 PM »
Hello bjb,

Some steps of the Build Mesh stage are using only one core, so it is not the bug, however, the long time may be related to the large number of photos in the set and model complexity.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC