Forum

Author Topic: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?  (Read 3905 times)

BobvdMeij

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« on: October 23, 2017, 02:47:27 PM »
As of recently I am encountering problems when visualizing DEMs and Orthomosaics n Photoscan.

More specifically, when opening either of them in the Orthoview the screen remains empty and the functional bar on the top of the screen does as well (see attached image). The scale bar shows up, as does the gradient bar for depicting the DEM's elevation. But the models itself remain absent.

This had been working fine until recently. Anyone else encountering the same issues?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 03:11:06 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

I'm almost sure that it is some kind of graphic driver issues introduced by some Windows 10 update.

The similar issue has been discussed in the related thread:
http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=7556.msg36560#msg36560
So the driver update would likely solve the problem.

Alternatively you can run PhotoScan executable with additional parameters:
Code: [Select]
photoscan.exe --opengl angle
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BobvdMeij

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 04:06:40 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

I'm almost sure that it is some kind of graphic driver issues introduced by some Windows 10 update.

The similar issue has been discussed in the related thread:
http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=7556.msg36560#msg36560
So the driver update would likely solve the problem.

Alternatively you can run PhotoScan executable with additional parameters:
Code: [Select]
photoscan.exe --opengl angle

Right, so how does one exactly go about running Photoscan in this so-called Angle mode? When simply copy pasting your command in the command line I get an invalid syntax.

Please bear with me that we are using Agisoft Photogrammetric Kit from TOPCON, so I reckon the syntax might be slightly different for us to work.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2017, 04:13:11 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

There are several ways:
1) open OS terminal (cmd.exe), browse to Photogrammetric Kit folder and execute:
Code: [Select]
apk.exe --opengl angle
2) Create the .bat file with the following line and run it:
Code: [Select]
"%programfiles%/Agisoft/Photogrammetric Kit/apk.exe --opengl angle
3) Modify the shortcut (in a similar way to the attached screenshot) by adding "--opengl angle" to the Target field.

I think you need at least version 1.3.3 for that.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BobvdMeij

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2017, 04:21:01 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

There are several ways:
1) open OS terminal (cmd.exe), browse to Photogrammetric Kit folder and execute:
Code: [Select]
apk.exe --opengl angle
2) Create the .bat file with the following line and run it:
Code: [Select]
"%programfiles%/Agisoft/Photogrammetric Kit/apk.exe --opengl angle
3) Modify the shortcut (in a similar way to the attached screenshot) by adding "--opengl angle" to the Target field.

I think you need at least version 1.3.3 for that.

Unfortunately the Target is greyed out and thus cannot be altered in our case.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2017, 04:45:53 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

Then you can use the .bat file option or manually create a new shortcut for apk.exe, I assume that it should allow modification in that case.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

BobvdMeij

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2017, 04:56:14 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

Then you can use the .bat file option or manually create a new shortcut for apk.exe, I assume that it should allow modification in that case.

Upon trying your first option (running the APK.exe from the OS cmd prompt) I am able to start Photoscan, but the issues pertain. It is also indicated in the OS cmd prompt that the --angle argument is invalid, hence why it is not working I suppose.

Is my syntax correct?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Orthoview: DEM & Ortho are gone?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2017, 05:59:35 PM »
Hello BobvdMeij,

Syntax is correct, but it works in the versions 1.3.3 and higher, so you need to update.

Just for case I have sent a link to you via PM.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC