Forum

Author Topic: Network processing - questions  (Read 5012 times)

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Network processing - questions
« on: January 10, 2018, 04:03:20 PM »
Hello to all, we have recently started testing network processing and I'm facing one or two problems during the procedure. More specifically we get a lot of bad allocation errors, even with the node unit that has been by now our main processing engine (working locally). I've checked with 1.4.0, tried building the depth maps and then cancelling the process. If I choose to process the project again with the single node (i7 6800k and 32gb RAM) by reusing the depth maps, the cloud is generated!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 04:12:40 PM »
Hello cadm8,

Which OS you are using? In case of Windows, please check that 64-bit version of PhotoScan is installed.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2018, 04:49:01 PM »
Hello Alexey and thank you for your time. Yes photoscan 64bit is installed on all nodes. One of them is a server type Xeon with windows server r2012 (64bit photoscan also)

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2018, 04:58:12 PM »
Hello cadm8,

Then can you provide the processing log from any node that contains the mentioned error?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2018, 01:41:22 PM »
Hello Alexey, I've checked my logs and cannot find the bad allocation line, maybe because I'm cancelling the project? I will reprocess the project by unchecking point cloud processing in fine task menu, to see if that will have an effect

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2018, 12:01:06 PM »
Hello again, I have unchecked "build dense cloud" on the "secondary" ie less powerful nodes of our system and now the project has completed, even though one node (the slower one) had 2 bad allocation errors. Great new feature to be able to check or uncheck specifically to build only depth maps. The increase in speed is extremely big, thank you Photoscan (and Alexey  ::) )

One question more; Does higher priority mean that the node will be assigned with more work to process?
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 12:19:00 PM by cadm8 »

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2018, 02:30:35 PM »
Question about node tasks; I'm deselecting a certain node from all tasks but building depth maps and yet it is trying to participate in aligning photos, where it is being very slow and slowing down the project. How can that happen since I'm deselecting that node from inside photoscan network properties?

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2018, 02:47:38 PM »
Hello cadm8,

If you wish to let some nodes to work only on GPU-supported tasks (such as image matching and depth maps calculation), you can use Capability option for the nodes (can be set to GPU, CPU or Any mode).

The priority means that in case several nodes are idling and a new task comes from the server, it would be sent to the node with the higher priority.

Not sure, what are you changing in the preferences. The fine-level task distribution is set for the current batch when it is sent to the server from the client, so the settings on the client's machine only are utilized.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

cadm8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2018, 04:57:42 PM »
...The fine-level task distribution is set for the current batch when it is sent to the server from the client, so the settings on the client's machine only are utilized.
That's exactly what I hadn't realized up until now. I was expecting for every node to follow its own fine level distribution. So, is there a way to tell photoscan that a specific node should only for example build depth maps, or only match photos, or both and nothing more?

Thank you very much for your time

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: Network processing - questions
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2018, 05:03:57 PM »
Hello cadm8,

Currently it is not possible to set up a list of certain task for the node to be accepted. As said above, you can only choose, whether the node should work only on GPU-supported sub-tasks (Match Photos, Build Depth Maps and Refine Mesh), on CPU-only sub-tasks (all the rest) or on any task.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC