Forum

Author Topic: New Here  (Read 1002 times)

jdesignz023

• View Profile
New Here
« on: February 28, 2018, 10:34:21 AM »
Hey all. I am new to 3d scanning and this software I decided to purchase as it has given me the best results in MANY tests of different subjects and lightings, indoors, outdoors, etc. The quickness and accuracy is uncanny! I do, however, still strive for a successful scan :/

I am limited on photo capture devices at the moment and have use other high quality images and videos for testing with really interesting results but always come short of that one that I can get "print ready".

I have just a few questions (feel free to link other posts as I am still reading through them since I just registered).

Note: I have been up for many days and nights plugging in and testing different options within the software, and found good results as a starting point, but wonder a few things.

1. If I take photos that are FHD 8MP size resolutions (for now, until I can bump to 15 soon and an actual DSLR), I usually try out first the jpg photos for rendering to see how well they turn out since I cannot capture RAW either yet. And then I batch edit white balance and color balancing, trying to rid of dark shadows and bright highlights etc). But, I always fall short in capturing enough blue dots to make the dense point cloud worth meshing.

My camera angles and shots are great. I actually use a drone style template of 2-3 heights and top/side photos to cover all angles the absolutely best I can. Somehow, I end up with a blotchy mesh or bumpy mesh/PC render (not just on solid colors or repeated patterns, as I try to reduce those). When I cannot reduce those negative effects, I am not sure how else to "edit" other than re-shoot.

first question is: How do I post-process in order to make sure my photos (taken either directly, or from video snapshooting) are "photogrammetry ready"?