Forum

Author Topic: LAS files with a shift  (Read 6187 times)

Herman

• View Profile
LAS files with a shift
« on: December 28, 2012, 09:09:49 PM »
Hi
I am a surveyor working mostly in Namibia and we have a rather standard projection.
A Transverse Mercator , two degrees wide per panel and based on the the odd longitudes
lines e.g. 13, 15, 17 Deg. East .
Our Northing's  is based are base on the 22 deg. South latitude and we use the Besels 1841
Geoid
The system is called Schwarzeck and for example the the Lo panel 15 is the standard
EPSG : 29375 projection - catered for and working perfectly in PS.
The problem I do have is that the LAS files generated are positioned roughly 1 deg. ,
85km to 110km wrong when viewed in Global Mapper and overlaid with the TIFF
images or the DEM that all plot perfectly.

Can anyone offer a possible explanation?

Regards
Herman

Alexey Pasumansky

• Agisoft Technical Support
    • View Profile
Re: LAS files with a shift
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 05:58:35 PM »
Hello Herman,

Thank you for reporting. We will check this problem.

Do you have this problem only with Schwarzeck projections or with others too, if you have exported point cloud in another projections, of course?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Herman

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 07:22:02 PM »
Hello Alexey

Thank for the quick reply - I have to note again that between yourself & Dmitry support is very professional and your software is great!!!!!!

I unfortunately I only work in Schwarzeck , I will try with a smaller project and convert the GCP to
WGS 84 and test that.

Regards and the best to you all for 2013

Regards
Herman

mwillis

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2012, 09:27:09 PM »
For what it is worth, I tested this several months back using UTM and it seemed to align correctly.  I did not get great results from LAStools but worth more investigation.

Matt

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2012, 08:20:44 AM »