Forum

Author Topic: possibility to manually positionning picture  (Read 7515 times)

Agora3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
possibility to manually positionning picture
« on: December 21, 2012, 04:16:39 PM »
Hi!

We are using a system where the camera doesn't move to take the picture, but the object is on a rotating plateform. For some model Agisoft seems to have trouble repositionning the picture so I think it would be a great help if there was a way I could tell agisoft: I did picture every 20 degree for example.

Thanks!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2012, 05:00:49 PM »
Hello Agora3D,

Please check you have masked all the static background before starting photo alignment procedure, since otherwise it may cause problems.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Agora3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2012, 05:40:55 PM »
The masking is okay, I double check and all my picture are masked. But the objects for which I have the problem are very similar on each side, like a tooth, a mandibul or a small vertebra...

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2012, 05:46:44 PM »
Hello Agora3D,

And are there enough points found on each image? Maybe you can provide a couple of images and shooting conditions (ISO, Resolution, Aperture and etc.)

However, it the object is poorly textured and is blinking there could be serious problems in successful reconstruction.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

Agora3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2012, 05:59:34 PM »
Hello Alexey,

Well that is the problem, it cannot find enough point, neither realine the picture correctly. So that is why I was wondering if it was possible to implement e feathure saying "I have 66 pictures taken every 5.45 degrees" Because in that case it could help the software to match the point...

Thanks for you reply!

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2012, 06:28:49 PM »
Hello Agora3D,

If you have only approximate camera positions/coordinates such data will only help to speed up the processing selecting only neighboring images for matching (like Ground Control preselection, based on camera coordinates). But even if a pair of images from your dataset has alignment problems matching pre-selection will not help.
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

archiboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2012, 06:46:45 AM »
I'm having very similar issues.  I've created detailed masks, there are objects in the image for the software to identify, but the basic object is constructed of a mono-tone latex material.  The align photos process is failing dismally and I can't seem to figure a way to convince it to rotate the camera positions around the object.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

archiboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2012, 07:08:10 AM »
I've done some experimentation: Converting base images to Grayscale -- then inverting them has helped.  I tried this with just 2 images.  I'll do more experimenting and report back in the next few days after I write a photoshop action to convert several hundred images ;)

Agora3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: possibility to manually positionning picture
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2013, 11:41:06 AM »
Thanks! Good to know, i will try it as well! :)