Forum

Author Topic: Bumpy scans  (Read 3841 times)

treddie

• View Profile
Bumpy scans
« on: June 26, 2018, 01:07:47 AM »
Hello.

I am new to Photoscan and one major problem I cannot find a solution to is bumpy surfaces that should be smooth (please see attached image).  What is causing this?  I am working with the output from a scan booth with 147 cameras, or my pro camera outdoors taking images of things like vehicles.  Everything comes out bumpy, and often times parts of the subject just don't get interpreted even though there are plenty of images covering an area.  for instance, one shoe may be fine, the other is missing most of the outer side.

Alexey Pasumansky

• Agisoft Technical Support
    • View Profile
Re: Bumpy scans
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 05:09:04 PM »
Hello treddie,

Which processing parameters you are using at each step?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

treddie

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2018, 11:23:51 PM »
Align Photos:
  -Medium
  -Generic Preselection Off
  -Adaptive Camera Off

Build Dense Cloud:
  -Ultra High
  -Moderate
  -Calculate Point Colors On

Build Mesh:
  -All defaults except face count = 7,000,000

Build Texture:
  -Generic
  -Mosaic
  -8192 x 1
  -Enable hole filling
  -Enable ghosting

treddie

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2018, 12:51:57 AM »
I forgot to mention, I am using Photoscan Standard.

Alexey Pasumansky

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2018, 05:00:19 PM »
Hello treddie,

I can suggest to use the High accuracy when aligning the cameras and optimize the alignment using all parameters except K4, P3 and P4 (unless any of them are already suggested for optimization by default) - do it before building the dense cloud.

As an alternative to dense cloud -> mesh generation you can use experimental visibility consistent mesh generation option (should be enabled in the Advanced preferences tab) and later use Refine Mesh option from Tools Menu.