Forum

Author Topic: inaccurate volume  (Read 1003 times)

syuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
inaccurate volume
« on: November 09, 2018, 06:44:27 PM »
Hi all,

I was working on a project that reconstruct a 3D model of a box. I used about 200 photos which were taken by iphone. I used ruler to measure the model's width, length and height. But they are always two-fold over the real size. Does anybody know why it is inaccurate, and how to optimize it? Any suggestion would be appreciate.

Thanks.

Alexey Pasumansky

  • Agisoft Technical Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13190
    • View Profile
Re: inaccurate volume
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 07:30:35 PM »
Hello syuan,

Have you used markers or scale bars in PhotoScan project in order to reference or scale the model during the processing?
Best regards,
Alexey Pasumansky,
Agisoft LLC

syuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: inaccurate volume
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2018, 05:39:54 AM »
Hi Alexey,

Thanks for your reply. I haven't tried markers or scale bars yet. Could I add markers to the model generated by Agisoft, and input the reference value to estimate the volume?

stihl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: inaccurate volume
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2018, 06:40:15 PM »
If you have not scaled your project with either markers (GCPS) or a sale bar then your model will have *no* value other than looking pretty.

Photoscan has no idea what the size of the box is unless it's scaled. Otherwise it can be a box the size of ..a box, or a box the size of a house.